Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drip irrigation for tomatoes

Hi all

First year for growing tomatoes in my own greenhouse and I'm no expert.

I have installed drip irrigation (£10 less than half price from B & Q at the moment) to my container tomato, pepper & cucumber plants because I can't get to water them at weekends.

I have it attached to a water butt which is dripping water to about 25 plants. At first I thought it would not be enough water but I have discovered that the water is seeping through some of the pots and onto the greenhouse base. I'm now concerned that I may be supplying too much water. I have no timer so it drips 24/7.

Can anyone give any advice as to whether I need to restrict the dripping time or is it Ok to continue as I am.

Thanks.

You can buy timers that can work with a drip irrigation system from a waterbutt.

What I do is put a dripper in a pot and see how much it drips over 24hr so you can see how much water your crops are actually getting.

My solar pump has a built in timer but I'm sure B&Q do a battery timer
    Last edited by marathon; 26-06-2009, 01:08 PM.

Comment

i have a similar drip-feed system set up in my greenhouse - the compost in my pots is moist at the top around the dripper, almost dry around the edge of the pots - no idea if the bottom of the pots are even damp, not checked

the slimline water butt feeds 9 tomatoes, 2 cucumbers, about 5 peppers and takes about 20 hours to empty, so it's a pretty slow dripping system - most tomato pots have 2 drippers in each

what i do know is that the plants are all growing and all look healthy at the moment, so guessing it's ok for now - i can add more drippers if it looks like getting too dry

was also told on here that "you can't overwater tomatoes" - although i'd say if the compost was sludgy / sloppy, it wouldn't be too good - maybe partially closing the tap on the water butt will slow the flow a bit?
      http://MeAndMyVeggies.blogspot.com

Comment