Chillies are stuck

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chillies are stuck

I finally managed to get some lemon drop chillis to germinate, after quite a few weeks of thinking they'd had it [my mistake was probably not doing it in the house, but expecting them to cope with the greenhouse]. They poked their heads up and grew about an inch, have about 6 leaves each now but are tiny tiny plants.
    Is it worth bringing them in and keeping them there?
    Do they growth spurt or grow slowly anyway? Is there anything I can do to cheer them up?

My Lemon Drops are the poorest of the bunch - little titchy things. This is my first year of growing chillis properly and I'm guessing they just need some more sun and warmth.

Comment

Personally, I'd bring them in if you want consistent growth, at least until night temps are staying above a minimum of at least 10ºc. Mine are in the greenhouse, but so is a heater You are further south than me though, so I don't know what sort of night temps you're getting? Have you a max/min thermometer?

Comment

I've tried leaving half the chilli plants in the cold greenhouse and half of them I've brought in to a warm room in the house. The ones in the warmth are now, after a couple of weeks, noticibly bigger. Nightime temps in the greenhouse are about 6 deg.
        I you'st to have a handle on the world .. but it BROKE!!

Comment

I brought the biggest in, that's all I can get away with at the mo now we have a greenhouse - and it is flowering [well, it has 3 flower buds but they haven't opened yet].

Boring waiting innit!!!

Comment

Originally posted by terrier View Post
            I've tried leaving half the chilli plants in the cold greenhouse and half of them I've brought in to a warm room in the house. The ones in the warmth are now, after a couple of weeks, noticibly bigger. Nightime temps in the greenhouse are about 6 deg.
            I'm going to try this tomorrow.

Comment