Hero to zero - strawberries keeling over

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hero to zero - strawberries keeling over

I'm new at this..but I thought I was doing so well!

I bought some strawberry plants from ebay and put them in a large planter. This was about a month ago. I've watered them regularly and kept an eye on them (squashing aphids, etc). This seemed to have paid off as they were all flourishing and putting on strong growth of leaves, buds and flowers!

However, in the past few days, I've lost 3 and one other is on it's way out. They went from healthy, happy plants with flower buds to dead. Their leaves have died and gone brown and the flower buds are still green, bud wilted and pretty much dead. They're from all over the place (it's one of those planters with some on top, then 3 balconies per side, 8 sides), so it doesn't seem to be a localised thing.

Any ideas?
    Singleton Allotments Society
    Ashford Gardeners - A gardening club (and so much more) for the greenfingered of Ashford and surrounding areas. Non-Ashfordites welcome .

Have you been overwatering them maybe?????-(not nice when you've been looking after your babies- and then they die on you!)

You've not used the watering can near weedkiller have you????...just a thought!
    Last edited by Nicos; 10-05-2009, 06:32 PM.
    "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment

Sounds like they've drowned.
      You only need to water when it's dry, not every day.
      All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Hmm, must be the over watering then. My FIL said to beware of them drying out, so I suppose I got a bit overzealous.

Don't use weedkiller, so it won't be that. Grr, now I need more strawberry plants, I gave/swapped away most of my spares. Might just have enough to fill the gaps.