Raspberries

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Raspberries

I planted a row of the autumn raspberry - Polka. I chose it because it had won loads of awards. The first year of fruiting (last year) the canes produced very large, firm berries that looked fantastic, however, they turned out to be virtually flavourless . Is there any way of improving the flavour or did this variety win prizes for looks alone..?
    Last edited by Dingle; 08-05-2009, 02:49 PM.

I'm not an expert on raspberries, but I've often found that with many fruit types, reports from growers trials tend to strongly emphasize the good points and not mention the bad points.
    Growers trials are often conducted in specially selected locations, where the soil and climate will give the most impressive result.

Newer varieties of fruits need strong marketing hype, otherwise they would not sell and the developers would not earn their living.

Modern fruits are basically bred for supermarkets.
    The fruits generally need to have as many as possible of the following features:

1. Good size
    2. Colourful
    3. No blemishes
    4. Nicely shaped
    5. All the same size and shape
    6. Fruits all ripen at the same time
    7. Fruits tolerate rough handling during transport
    8. Fruits store well

Sadly, flavour is often overlooked and the heavy use of chemicals by commercial growers means that disease resistance doesn't matter to them.

The above is why I have listed my hard-earned experiences with various apple types; because the old, traditional varieties are often better than anything that modern breeding can offer, if you don't mind not ticking all the "boxes" above.