Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A dumb question about potatoes

Hi everyone,

I'm new to growing my own veg but getting deeply entrenched thanks to the inspiration from GYO.

Quick, and probably really stupid question...I am growing potatoes in a compost bag, the shoots came through pretty quickly and now are quite established, should I have earthed them up right away?? Is it to late now, I guess the largest is a couple of inches tall but coming on very quickly.

Sorry if it is a really obvious question but I know people here have brilliant knowledge.

Thanks

Laura xxx

Not too late at all - and not a dumb question - if you don't ask, you'll never know.
    You can earth them up now if you wish - it is a continual process - evry time your shoots get about two - three inches above the compost, throw some more on.
    Rat

British by birth
    Scottish by the Grace of God

http://scotsburngarden.blogspot.com/
    http://davethegardener.blogspot.com/

Comment

You're doing fine Laura.

The shoots you have need to be protected from any hard frost with fleece, straw etc but you don't need to earth up until the shoots are perhaps 8 inches tall and then only cover half their height . Continue until your bag is full.

However some people choose to use compost or earth instead of fleece or straw to protect from frost and they earth up early over all the shoots. IMHO this deprives the plant of beneficial sunlight.

Later in the season the plant will produce roots in the earthed up part but not until perhaps 12 to 16 weeks after the seed potato was planted. This means there is little gain for early potatoes which are harvested before then.

You must, however, make sure that all the tubers growing are kept out of the light and earthing up is a good way to do this.

I should add there are some varients to my method used by growers and if their method works for them then it is just as valid as mine and I wouldn't disagree with them!