Leeks again!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leeks again!

I'm sorry to keep harking on about my b****y leeks, but I'm getting SOOOO confused about what to do!

Basically I sowed them in an indoor seed tray about 3 weeks ago, with a view to eventually putting them into my raised bed outdoors. Thre are now around a dozen thin green shoots about the size and height of a blade of grass. I am really not sure what to do now - someone posted me to say transplant them into pots about 6' wide as the seed tray won't be deep enough to allow the roots to develop. I don't have enough pots, but my plan was to transplant them into some peat pots I have (which are about the size of the average drinking glass), then put them in my cold frame for a couple of weeks to harden off and then put them into my raised bed.

Bearing in mind I am a complete beginner, can anyone help?

I sow mine in a plant pot outside and when they have about 5 leaves each I take the clump out the pot - pull them apart - trim the roots and stick them as deep as i can in a hole made with a pencil.

Not failed yet...

Yours sound fine - If you put them in individual pots then they'll be fine. They're pretty hardy.
    Serene she stand amid the flowers,
    And only count lifes sunny hours,
    For her dull days do not exist,
    Evermore the optimist

Comment

I sow around 100 seeds in 5-7" pots which are reasonably deep and then when they are about 6-8" tall the leeks get planted out in holes.

Leeks develop long roots so the seed tray will hinder that. I'd just transplant them into a deeper container. Putting them into peat pots will be time consuming.
      Mark

Vegetable Kingdom blog

Comment

Yours sound fine - If you put them in individual pots then they'll be fine. They're pretty hardy.[/QUOTE]

Should I create a larger hole and drop the seedlings in followed by a watering, as the general advice would seem to indicate? Or should I transplat the clump of soil they are in as well?