Rhubarb, rhubarb

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rhubarb, rhubarb

No, not practising to be an extra in a film , just wondering - anyone here know anything about growing rhubarb from seed ? How quickly do the plants grow ( I know, how long is a piece of string...) - do I need to sow lots of seeds to get enough plants for use as insecticidal drenches the first year ?
    There's no point reading history if you don't use the lessons it teaches.

Head-hunted member of the Nutter's Club - can I get my cranium back please ?

My neighbour's son grew some from seed. The one I have is now coming up to three years old and only just beginning to be big enough to pick. I think it's like asparagus in that you don't pick any for the first few years to allow the plant to establish. It took a year to be big enough to transplant! If you have mare's tail around you could use that instead.

However I am not an expert so maybe someone else knows different.
    Bright Blessings
    Earthbabe

If at first you don't succeed, open a bottle of wine.

Comment

Patience is a virtue.

Sow in seedbed in April - over the summer, thin and then move the strongest plants in autumn to a permanent bed.
      One variety says can be harvested one year after sowing - that sounds a bit quick so I would only harvest very very lightly. Perhaps then 2 years from seed to harvest?
      My Blog - http://multiveg.wordpress.com/
      Photo Album - http://www.flickr.com/photos/99039017@N00/

Comment

Can you not beg, steal or borrow some crowns Snohare?
        ~
        Aerodynamically the bumblebee shouldn't be able to fly, but the bumblebee doesn't know that so it goes on flying anyway.
        ~ Mary Kay Ash

Comment