Lets Go Outside - a garlic question

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lets Go Outside - a garlic question

My garlic in the conservatory is doing a sterling job and shooting right up, even the runt which I had consigned to the great garlic press in the sky.

However, their cousins outside in the various containers have not shown anything above the surface at all.
    Should I be worried?
    Is this just due to the heat inside?
    Have they rotted or frozen?

The variety is Sultop Hardneck Spring planting.

Advice from Garlic-Lovers would be appreciated
    Iamhanuman

New Boy & Son Blog My Blog about a new gardener's experiences with his son

AND PLEASE CHECK OUT MY DEAR WIFE'S BLOG
    Independent Minds

Ok...I am no expert but happy to share my experience, plus I looooooooves the garlic...I planted outside and in..and like yours the ones in the greenhouse have come up fab....the ones outside were a lot slower, they even had to battle thro a flood of about 20 hours....I was convinced that they would not grow.....but they did....so I say....persevere....after all (Ihave been told) that garlic need a few very cold days to seperate into cloves

Comment

Originally posted by Safhyre View Post
      so I say....persevere....after all (Ihave been told) that garlic need a few very cold days to seperate into cloves
      how does that bode for the ones inside???
      Iamhanuman

Independent Minds

Comment

You might find that you get single giant bulbs rather than one made up of cloves, Iamhanuman - perfectly edible, just a bit trickier to use in recipes that only need a bit of garlic!

Some of my Feb planted cloves are only just up or still underground - Lautrec Wight is doing nicely but the rest...not so much. I'm not worried yet, as it's been a cold spring so far. As long as they haven't rotted, I expect they'll be fine in the end.

Comment