Do you crop rotate runner beans?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you crop rotate runner beans?

I'm new to allotments and whereas I've grown runner beans in my parents garden in the past and moved the site each year I'm being told by people on the allotment field to have a permanent area for them. They gave me two long steel scaffold poles and told me to put those in the ground for the ends to stop the canes falling over.
    I didn't get time to put those in this year and my beans are the ones that look as if they won't be standing next time I go down there as they're catching the wind. Is it right to have a permanent spot for beans or should I rotate them?

Hi Nicky - I'm only just starting out but have been reading and asking lots about rotation. From what I can gather the runner beans are part of the legume family and should be involved in your rotation plan. I think the main reason for rotation is to stop a build up of pests in the soil which will attack one particular plant family. Do a search on 'rotation' - there are lots of threads and posts about it.

Comment

I agree with martini, they should in my view be rotated with the legumes.

Having said that, like you, I have heard of them being grown in the same spot each year. I would imagine the exhibition growers probably do that as they prepare the soil for runners with a lot of water retaining compost, even newspapers in the trench I'm told. With the amount of leaf area being elevated above ground they dry out very easily, osmosis I think its called.

I personally rotate along with the rest of the legumes and get good crops!
      My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
      to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

Thanks Snadger - glad I got it right Was a bit afraid of being shot down in flames Just goes to show I'm learning and actually retaining!

Comment

Ah but did you