Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Onion and garlic confusion!

Afternoon all!

A quick question about onions and garlic. I planted mine out at the end of November last year, having seen somewhere that it was time to get these planted, and they had been doing OK (apart from a couple of the onions which dont seem to be doing much at all) and had sent up some lovely green shoots. Now I keep reading that I should be putting my onions in now....did I do tyhis wrong - should I have waited til now to do the onions and does this go for garlic as well??? Will they be OK - especially after all this snow?

Really confused ....and now wondering where I got this info about planting in November in the first place!!! (I'm new to this....)

The varieties were Garlic Purple Wight and Onion Early Crop Radar. Thanks in advance for the help!
    Julia
    If it ain't broke...fix it til it is!

Don't panic, you can get different types for autumn and spring planting - both onions and garlic.
    Happy Gardening,
    Shirley

Comment

Cheers! Panic over... was just starting to wonder if I'd made it all up there!

Comment

You can plant in November or in the spring.
        Garlic is definitely better planted in November so you did the right thing.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

Yup- spring planted garlic sometimes grows into a ball instead of segments!
          "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment

Originally posted by Alice View Post
            You can plant in November or in the spring.
            Same as with broad beans
            All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

phew thanks for asking this question as I did the same and started worrying that I got it wrong although they do seem to be doing okay. I planted broad beans as well so I am doing something right.

Comment

planting garlic