Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tell me how to grow Carrots, Leeks & Onions succesfully!! Please!!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tell me how to grow Carrots, Leeks & Onions succesfully!! Please!!

I am new to gardening and really really excited about getting started ASAP!
    I have today purchased my Carrot, Leek & Onion seeds and am this evening going to get stuck in to sowing them in seed trays for them to start their lives in my kitchen window!!

As I live in a rented property, I dont really want to start digging the garden up and planting, as you never know when you may be asked to end your tenancy for the landlord to sell up!! So everything in my garden is in pots.
    The garden is L shaped, with the garage to the right, and the L being formed behing the garage. It is a south facing garden and as the area behing the garage gets forgotten about, I thought this was an ideal area to start my vegetable crop! I have purchased a container today to start growing potatoes, and I cant wait to get started on them!!
    What containers would be most suitable for growing Carrots, Onions & Leeks (seperately of course). How deep/Wide do they ideally need to be, when should I Plant them out after sowing them indoors initially, and my biggest concern is knowing when they are ready to be dug up and will be ready for eating.
    As you can see, I am totlly clueless, but am really looking forward to detting started on this! I never realised grdening is so exciting until recently!! :

Any help and advice would be hugeley appreciated!!

Jo

You don't want to be sowing carrots into seed trays.
    They have a tap root (they are a tap root) so you can't transplant them.

Unless ... you sow them into a loo roll, and then plant the whole thing into the garden.

If you're growing in pots - just sow direct into your pot (which will obviously be deeper than the finished length of your carrot)

there ya go; clear as mud, no?