No announcement yet.

strawberries taking over-what do i do?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• strawberries taking over-what do i do?

Hi folks.

complete beginner here so please bear with me if I hit stupid mode.

I planted some strawberry plants last year and they seem to take over the plot by the end of the season- mind you I only got half a dozen fruits from them! Am I supposed to do something with all the little plants that branch off? Havent been to see lately but also are there things I am supposed to do now or do they all die off in the winter and I have to plant new ones again.

Hi there- and welcome to the Vine!

Not a silly question at all!

Strawberries do best in their 2nd and 3rd years- and then will be less productive.That being the case most people replace them after their 3rd or 4th year.
    All those babies should have roots by now- and can be moved to create a new bed which will be one year younger.
    If you do this each year you'll never need to buy replacement plants- and will have loads spare to pass on to other people.

I made the mistake of letting the babies grow where they were- and now I've no idea which ones are 4 or 5 years old!!!( until they don't fruit!!)

All strawberry plants die back for the winter- and tend to have just a few leaves left in the middle. Any leaves which are dead- or red -should be carefully cut off as these can harbour mould.
    "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment

Just as Nicos said ... you need to thin them out. If they are left crowded, your crop will be smaller. They need about 12" apart each way
      All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

hey thanks for that! great so I will have a constant supply of strawberry plants. Easy when you know how

Comment