Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bit of advice about carrots/beetroot please!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bit of advice about carrots/beetroot please!

Hello, here's my first proper post following on from the introduction post I just made. Complete novice at this, and would appreciate honesty - if I've done something completely wrong please do tell me ! My wife and I have just got the "bug" of growing things, and have grown a few different types of herbs well - and now have moved onto vegetables.

Anyways, I made a trough to grow some veg in (so I didn't have to dig our lawn up - resale reasons) - it's roughly I'd say 1.5m long, by say 0.5m wide, sits maybe 0.5m high up off the grown too. In it I filled it with some good quality compost, and mixed in a little of that bonemeal stuff to help with the seeds we sowed - probably not needed, not sure why I did it actually!

I planted half and half, carrots and beetroot directly from the seeds - and now the carrots have shoots about an inch high (these were planted maybe 3 weeks ago?), and beets have about 2inch shoots on them.. I'd initially planted the seeds in about 4 rows of each (4 rows of carrots, and 4 of beetroot) - as the packet said that some may not germinate so plant plenty - but eventually they'd need pricking out. As they were so bunched together (I guess every single seed germinated) I've today tried to space them out much more - have moved some of the bunches into pots and put them in our makeshift greenhouse (one of those metal framed things, with a plastic cover on). I've spaced them out, to have maybe 4 inches around them, give or take some - and left two groups of the shoots, incase these ones don't take. I've a picture of it here: