Leaving Leeks to Flower.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaving Leeks to Flower.

I left a few of last winter's leeks in the ground and allowed them to flower as I was told that they attracted bees and hoverflies. 'Attract' is probably an understatement, each flower had at least a dozen bees on it yesterday afternoon, all at the same time, and as, for this year only, the leeks are beside the lavender, the whole area is swarming with so many different species of bee I could sit and watch for hours and probably still not see all the different types. - not much actual work done yesterday. I've never done this before, but I'll definitely do it every year in future. And now my lottie has all those lovely pollinators visiting I'm going to organise some overwintering places for them. Oh, and the leek flowers are different colours from white through varying shades of lilac to purple even though they're all the same variety.....that was a pleasant surprise too.
    Into each life some rain must fall........but this is getting ridiculous.

I like to let leeks, garlic and onions flower. If they are non F1s I'll also save the seed. I left a few onions to flower at the lottie and I went a few times to find that they had been snapped over. I have 2 garlics that have a beautiful purple flower, so I'm saving that seed just to see what occurs when I plant it again. The leeks were gorgeous as they came to flower, with fabulous pointy hats. I love it.

Comment

I had a go at letting leeks flower this year too - my first attempt at saving seeds! The insects were all over them just like yours bluemoon!

Michelle's Garden: Saving leek seeds

Comment

I left some in the ground too this year and they are just about to flower. Looking forward to it now!
        ~
        Aerodynamically the bumblebee shouldn't be able to fly, but the bumblebee doesn't know that so it goes on flying anyway.
        ~ Mary Kay Ash

Comment