Beetroots

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beetroots

How long to cook beetroots - how can you tell if they are soft or not if you cant prod a fork in them, also is it a bit too early to harvest them yet. I cooked two of mine today and although they taste delicious they are very small.

kwa50
    CraftChallenge.co.uk - Home

I roasted the first one with my first lot of spuds, about 30-40 minutes. It was lovely! And there was no purple anyway either - a miracle...
    I'm not much of a beetroot expert though, I don't like the purple that gets everywhere. Might try a white variety next year though
    Warning: I have a dangerous tendency to act like I know what I'm talking about.

Comment

Well, I'm no expert, but I've just harvested the first three of my first ever beetroots! They were about the same size as a golf ball - maybe a little bit smaller. I wrapped mine in silver foil with just a tiny bit of olive oil and a few cumin seeds and put them in the oven (at about 200ºC) for about 45mins. In retrospect, I think I might have over done them a little bit.

To see if they were cooked, I opened the silver foil and poked a knife through the top of the beetroot (where the leaves joined). Once the beetroots felt soft when I put the knife in, I figured they were done. I think I was checking a bit too infrequently so, like I said, I over did them a bit - they were still very tasty though!

Then again, I'm *fairly* sure you can eat beetroot raw if you really want to so I guess you can't under-cook them. So as long as you don't incinerate them, and you enjoy the results then I'd say they're properly cooked!

Good luck!

Rob

Comment

grated raw beetoot is delicious in a salad, can't wait until mine grow a bit more (currently the size of a small pea)

Comment