Courgettes are doing my head in!!!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Courgettes are doing my head in!!!

Hi, this is my first post and as a novice I have a few questions about courgettes.

1. How can I tell the difference between male and female flowers? I have had a number of flowers and as a result now have 3 or 4 mini courgettes but the flowers have dropped off. Have they been pollinated?

2. I have lots of leaf growth, should I trim them back to encourage growth of fruit?

3. Do I dig them up at the end of the season? I have them growing in large wooden boxes alongside peas and carrots.

by no means an expert but this will be 5th yr of growing courgettes & have never been sure about male\female flowers,just let the bees do as they do & we have courgettes a plenty!not sure i'd want to do anything to make the harvest bigger they seem the 1 veg you cant give to anyone once the season hits!
    the fates lead him who will;him who won't they drag.

Happiness is not having what you want,but wanting what you have.xx

Comment

Diito on the flowers.

Fruit has one on the end, I tend to pop them off once the fruit is a little bigger as they seem to rot quite quickly damaging the courgette.

I leave them totally alone, they are big sprawly type plants and have always had loads of fruit.

Dig them up at end of season, they wont survive a frost.

Comment

Courgettes are the easiest thing to grow. Stop fretting. Just let them do their thing.

Like most allotment crops, they are annual. They are also tender and the first frost will kill them.
        All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

The first couple of flowers normally drop off, as two sheds says, go and look at something else for a week and you will probably have a courgette to eat