Runner beans in containers

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Runner beans in containers

More help needed please.....this is my first year growing veg and of course I'm making loads of mistakes, eg put some swedes in a small raised bed and when they had reached a wing span of 15" , covering everything in sight, I reluctantly pulled them out. Felt like a murderer, but something had to go!

I read with interest the thread about growing runners in a container. I have six plants in a massive plastic bucket bought from B & Q. Hubby drilled some holes in the bottom and I popped in the compost & seeds (Celebration) and now have six healthy looking plants. Problem is I put in a small wigwam about 4 foot high, as I don't want them to grow too tall and thought maybe I could pinch out the tops.

What do you think.....will this work and if not is it too late to change the wigwam, or will this disturb the roots? Also how often should I feed and water them and is tomatoe food OK?

Another question about potatoes. I have two potato barrels with some healthy looking plants about 9" above the top of the barrel. When do I harvest them.....I read after the flowers die back is that right?

Oh thank goodness for you guys.....I really don't know what I'm doing, but luvin every minute!

Thank you thank you
    Truly Green
    Last edited by TrulyGreen; 24-05-2008, 07:43 AM. Reason: spelling error

Hi Truly Green,

You can/do pinch the tops of Runners when they get to the top of the frame, personally though I'd have said 4ft isn't really tall enough, you'll be losing a lot of beans, the usual height to pinch them is 6ft.
    Feed weekly once beans have set, and water regularly, beans are greedy feeders!

As for your pots, it depends on the variety but if they're a new potato then harvest is about 13wks from planting, for maincrop you wait for the foliage to die down. The best thing to do is to have a rumage around in the compost to see what they're like!