Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Squash & Pumpkins

Hi

I have ony had one seed from my squash germinate in the greenhouse, it was plenty warm enough.........i havent planted my pumpkins yet, but will do in the next couple of weeks.........

my question is - can i grow them in my greenhouse in a growbag, as i am only growing the one, it is a trial, i dont want to waste it!!

Also do pumpkins take months to grow loads and loads, as i only want them for halloween!!!!

Cheers

Squashysu

not sure but you have a good few months before now and end of oct

Comment

I did squash outside last year, total waste of time, the weather was rubbish so that didn't help

I'm no expert but I think pumpkins need alot of room to grow and like good soil. They are hungry plants and like the sun, bit like my OH

I would try them in open ground, not sure if a grow bag would sustain them.
      http://herbie-veggiepatch.blogspot.com

Updated 23rd February 2009

Comment

I have heard lately (sorry can't remember where) that pumpkins grow ok in a compost heap So as an experiment, I am going to pop a small pumpkin plant (Alladin F1) into the top of one of my nearly finished dalek style compost bins (lid off of course) and see how it goes....livin on the edge!

MrsB x

Comment

I've grown all kinds of squash and pumpkins over the years, they do take up a lot of space. Are you using the whole growbag for one plant? You might be better off digging a hole in the floor of the greenhouse and emptying the growbag into it. The plants need access to plenty of water and above all, warmth. I have seen a programme where a bloke grew a monster pumpkin that started in a heated greenhouse in april and grew outwards onto his plot. By mid august, it covered the whole plot. Not saying yours will get that big but....