X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Purple sprouting broccoli

Hi
    I have grown PSB for the first time and did not know to pinch out the tops
    to encourge side shoot grow. I now have just one small central broccoli bunch,
    have I left things to late ?

I am thinking about pinching out this one bunch ASAP and giving the plants a sea weed feed after a lean winter, in the hope to spur on some growth.

Any comments ?

Rgds Andy

hello andyp
    usually once you cut off the central broccoli bunch this is when the side shoots start to grow very fast give it time psb needs a lot of time . i am no expert just beginning but this usually happens
    regards nemo
    one years weed is seven years seed

Comment

Usually you get a central head which is a bit like the supermarket green broccoli to look at (except that obviously it's purple) Once you've harvested and eaten this leave the plant in the ground and it will produce side shoots. Try to use the central heads as soon as possible as leaving them for too long can cause the plant to bolt.
      Into each life some rain must fall........but this is getting ridiculous.

Comment

Just pinch out the central head and the side shoots will start to sprout failrly quickly. Don't be tempted to let the central head get too big (as in calabrese - what yer supermarkets call broccolli) or the plant will bolt. It's not too late - my early PSB is just ready for picking starting tomorrow.
        Rat

British by birth
        Scottish by the Grace of God

http://scotsburngarden.blogspot.com/
        http://davethegardener.blogspot.com/

Comment

It seems that different varieties behave slightly differently - I had to take the central head from Red Arrow (March-April heading) to get it to sprout but my Garnet (Dec-Feb) and Claret (March-April) plants produced side shoots at the same time as the central head. Weird but wonderful.

Sewer rat - your early PSB is what I call my late PSB!

Comment