Hot Chillies

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hot Chillies

I am very proud of the chillies I have grown (got the seeds off issue 2) but they are all green. What do I have to do to ripen them?

PS. Curry, my houe, Friday.

Where is your house then Homebrew?

Comment

Hot Chillis

All chillis start off green. you can still use them like that, they won't be as hot. They ripen to red or orange and the flavour gets stronger.

Comment

I have grown my chillis from seeds that I got free with GYO mag and was also giving up on them ever turning red but I noticed that today 2 chillis are beginning to go red so don't give up they will just take a little time to turn red ....................

Comment

I'm no chilli expert but my neighbour is, and he told me that it's a complete fallacy that red chillies are hotter than green ones. (They do look better though!) Can anyone confirm or deny this?

Comment

Originally posted by flourpower
            I'm no chilli expert but my neighbour is, and he told me that it's a complete fallacy that red chillies are hotter than green ones. (They do look better though!) Can anyone confirm or deny this?
            Check here for a bit of info

Seems to be related to the size rather than the colour

Comment

i also planted the GYO seeds and got some lovely green chillies from the plants - i couldnt wait til they turned red. i gobbled them up in a stir-fry the other week!!

I have also bought a plant this year from a DIY store, as i tend to get wimpy little plants when i grow things from seeds. The chillies are called "Apache".

I have quite a big crop of chillies on the plant at the moment but they are all quite small and most of them are red or in the process of turning red. Both red and green are quite potent even at this small size!!

Does anyone know if these will continue to get bigger even though they are red now?