Parsnips

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parsnips

Normally we lift these as required and therefore do not need to store in any way.

However today I have had to lift a dozen whoppers and whilst some will be chopped up and frozen for use in soups and stews, I want to cut some into wedges to freeze with the aim of being able to just grab a handful to roast them in the oven as yuo would fresh.

Will this work or will they turn out all rubbery or soggy?

I have no experience of freezing parsnips but the Good Housekeeping Cookery Book says to choose young parsnips, trim, peel and cut into narrow strips. Blanch for one minute, cook, drain and pack. Not sure your monsters will qualify as young parsnips so maybe others have better freezer books.
    Happy Gardening,
    Shirley

Comment

I don't bother with the blanching, as I find this can make them soggy. I would just cut them into wedges, open freeze and then pack into a bag or tub.

Comment

....or make spiced parsnip soup a la Sarah Ravens which is delicious, and will quite happily freeze.

Comment

Piglet, go to Delia's Christmas cookbook page 142 - Parmesan-Baked Parsnips. I can recommend these being frozen at the par-boiled/coated in flour/parmesan/milled black pepper stage.

Tony regularly does these to that stage, when cold open freezes, then bags up. Just take as many out of the bag as you need and bake as instructed.

In the unlikely event you haven't got Delia's Christmas cookbook, you should be able to find the recipe on deliaonline.co.uk. Failing that I can always type it out for you.

Can't recommend them highly enough!!

valmarg

Comment