Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Seed potatoes...how many should I order?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seed potatoes...how many should I order?

Hello everyone...
    Im new to this wonderful site and a first timer at veg growing. Ive just made up 4 x (4ft x 15ft) beds and would be grateful of any hints on how many kg of seed potatoes to buy. Also what type of earlies, maincrop, second earlies etc to choose.

Please help
    royboy

Hi Royboy and welcome to the vine!

If I was you I'd go to one of your beds and put indentations with a dibber at the proposed positioning of spuds. I'ts an easy matter then to count them up. Go to a garden centre and do a rough count of how many seed spuds you get in a pack and you should be able to work it out from there.

As far as varieties it's up to personal taste and whether you wish to store any? It's only really the maincrops which store ok, but the first early potatoes from the garden are something to relish!

Loads of info on the vine about varieties so have a good read through that!

Enjoy your spuds!
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

Hmm... 2 rows of 20 per bed I would say as a rough estimate- difficult to says as earlies can be planted nearer than late.

The earlies tend to be smaller, so you get more to a pack( per kilo)

Check out what sized bags you have the choice of and try and do a rough count of how many there are in each bag.

- I always end up buying too many and have to give them to neighbours kids to try and grow and stick them in tubs in my garden!!

I tend to grow earlies ( charlotte) to try and avoid blight so I'm not too good talking about mains etc.

Oh ...and welcome to the Vine!!
      Last edited by Nicos; 16-01-2008, 08:08 AM.
      "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple