My Pumpkin Muffins are too dense.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Pumpkin Muffins are too dense.

Today I used some of my pumpkin to make a Pumpkin and Chocolate Muffin recipe.

This is the ingredient list...

Makes 18 Muffins

8oZ Pumpkin flesh
    12oZ Self-Raising Flour
    50Z Caster Sugar
    2 Eggs Beaten
    6FloZ milk
    2oZ unsalted Butter
    2 Mars Bars ....( I used 1 and a half)
    Chocolate Chips.. optional (yes i used them)

However they have not really risen, and are a bit dense now, they taste sweet enough though.

I've been poking around on the internet for inspiration, and it appears
    other muffin recipies use baking powder as well.

(p.s i'm quite new to baking, so be gentle with me)

What do other grapes think might help make them a bit more fluffy..?
    Blogging at..... www.thecynicalgardener.wordpress.com

Hello Seasprout, sorry your muffins weren't just as light as you wanted. I'm no expert baker but can I ask if you sieved the flour. Sieving certainly makes things much lighter. Also, as you say some baking powder would help them to rise. I'm sure another Grape will be along with their muffin recipe. Hope they work out good.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

Hello Alice, yes sieving was done a plenty.

I'm poking around on a food site at the mo, it appears mixing the mixture well is a bad thing. Lumpy is good apparently.

Comment

I bake loads, have done since I was 10 (25 years ago!) and I really struggle with muffins.. I think mixing might be my problem too, I can't bear to leave it 'half mixed'!! If you suss it out Seasprout, give us a clue!

Comment

Yes, it's the mixing, I think, you have to just barely have it all mixed together, goes against the grain, I know. And I think those huge shop ones don't help, home-made ones don't rise to that size without a huge helping of baking powder!
          Sue

Comment