Grow Your Own Magazine

Navbar button growfruitandveg.co.uk Logo
Forum Navigation

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 38
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: New dwarf Mulberry Charlotte Russe - Your opinions please

  1. #1
    Losos is offline Seedling
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    97

    Default New dwarf Mulberry Charlotte Russe - Your opinions please

    I saw a news item in a magazine claiming that Suttons have introduced a new Mulberry which grows to just 1.5 Mt. in height and fruits in the first year

    I was always taught that if something sounds too good to be true it probably is

    Have you guys any thoughts on this :?:

    I've long been tempted to try growing a Mulberry but have always been put off by the ten plus years they take to start fruiting.

  2. #2
    veggiechicken's Avatar
    veggiechicken is online now Warning!! Contains Nuts
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunshiny South Wales
    Posts
    50,444
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I don't think they'd say it fruited in the first year (or two) if it didn't.

    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeands...ous-mulberries
    Last edited by veggiechicken; 11-03-2017 at 09:01 PM.
    Look on the bright side

  3. #3
    sparrow100's Avatar
    sparrow100 is offline Early Fruiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    I have one. It's just starting to leaf up and is very fragile-looking.

    I was told it would fruit this year. That might mean one berry, but I'd be happy with that. Suttons are sold out now till September, by which time there should be lots of reviews to let you know whether it does fruit and how much realistically it will grow in the first year.

    Ken Muir sells mulberries that will fruit in their first 3-5 years, which I thought was similar to most fruit trees. According to his website you can espalier 'normal' mulberries too, which is great given how massive they usually are.
    http://mudandgluts.com - growing fruit and veg in suburbia

  4. #4
    Mrs Bee is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    442

    Default

    I was too slow to order one of these for this year so I won't get mine until September.

    I already have a mulberry tree that I bought 2 years ago and am still waiting for the first fruit. We know where there is a full grown tree locally but others have cottoned on to it's location and that the fruit is edible so there isn't enough to be worth picking.

    The fruit is absolutely sublime.

    I will be very interested to hear how yours goes Sparrow.

    At a slight tangent, I am still waiting for the orange currant bush that I bought from the edible garden show a few years ago. I finally got in touch with the vendors who told me that I needed one of their blackcurrant bushes for fertilisation. Wish they had told me that when I bought the blasted thing.

    Not sure whether to get one or dig the beggar up and plant an ordinary currant bush.

  5. #5
    Jay-ell's Avatar
    Jay-ell is online now Welcome To The Jungle
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    3,579
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Mrs Bee - never heard of an orange currant (except as a type of tom) - I have a Golden Currant I just got from W1lk0


    So tempted by the Dwarf Mulberry, but got to figure out where I'm putting 2 blueberries, goji berry, 2 tay berries, 2 black currant, 1 golden currant and 1 black berry first.
    BUFFS, sparrow100 and vixylix like this.

    New all singing all dancing blog - Jasons Jungle

    ”I have not failed 1,000 times. I have successfully discovered 1,000 ways to NOT make a light bulb."
    ― Thomas A. Edison

    “Negative results are just what I want. They’re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don’t.”
    ― Thomas A. Edison

    - I must be a Nutter,VC says so -

  6. #6
    Mrs Bee is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    442

    Default

    The golden currant is an Orangesse. It is supposed to taste like mango and I was seduced into buying one. Really cross now that they didn't tell me what I needed to buy to actually get fruit, especially as I spent quite a lot at their stall.

    I think the company is Swiss. Lubna.

  7. #7
    veggiechicken's Avatar
    veggiechicken is online now Warning!! Contains Nuts
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunshiny South Wales
    Posts
    50,444
    Blog Entries
    4

  8. #8
    sparrow100's Avatar
    sparrow100 is offline Early Fruiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Bee View Post
    The golden currant is an Orangesse. It is supposed to taste like mango and I was seduced into buying one. Really cross now that they didn't tell me what I needed to buy to actually get fruit, especially as I spent quite a lot at their stall.

    I think the company is Swiss. Lubna.
    That is really annoying - we (you) also spent AGES on that stall - I left you and went walkabout for a bit. It seems a fairly essential bit of info to leave out. Worth contacting them I would have thought, given that I think when you bought it was when the company was just launching here - perhaps they didn't know or weren't prepared enough.
    Mrs Bee likes this.
    http://mudandgluts.com - growing fruit and veg in suburbia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts