Subs
Subs

Grow Your Own Magazine

Navbar button growfruitandveg.co.uk Logo
Forum Navigation

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 9 to 16 of 38
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: New dwarf Mulberry Charlotte Russe - Your opinions please

  1. #9
    Mrs Bee is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    442

    Default

    You are dead right Sparrow. We were ages on the stall.

    I am leaning towards getting a companion plant and see what happens. And if the currants are worth eating I can take cuttings and pass some on to you as I said I would. But I will take cuttings for both plants.

    I am a little wary though as so many exotic things I have bought as seed and plants have turned out to not be worth eating. Goji berries, electric daisies, asparagus peas, that salad that James Wong says tastes like roast beef, roast beef my left buttock!!!!!

    I have a black raspberry waiting to go in the plot. I believe it is what that lovely raspberry liqueur is made from. I just hope that is worth the bother!!!
    sparrow100 and DannyK like this.

  2. #10
    Mrs Bee is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veggiechicken View Post
    [url=http://www.lubera.co.uk/plants/lubera]
    Yep that is the one. If any one else wants to give it a go make sure you get the companion plant.
    Last edited by veggiechicken; 21-03-2017 at 10:47 PM.

  3. #11
    veggiechicken's Avatar
    veggiechicken is offline Warning!! Contains Nuts
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunshiny South Wales
    Posts
    51,386
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    It seems you have to buy another expensive plant from them to pollinate it!
    Some of their weird new plants are being sold as pairs. Maybe they've had complaints!
    Look on the bright side

  4. #12
    Jay-ell's Avatar
    Jay-ell is offline Welcome To The Jungle
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    3,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    What are "Fourberries®?
    Botanically these berries are Ribes aureum, gold currants, which are sometimes also called Ribes odoratum. Originally, this species is a prairie plant that was found in many (mainly western) countries of North America; it is robust, hardy and drought resistant.

    RIBES AUREUM - that's what the golden currant I got for £3 from Wi1k0s is. Photos of the fruit look similar.

    Doesn't say anything about being self infertile - looks like I might not get berries, I'll have to such it and see.

    New all singing all dancing blog - Jasons Jungle

    ”I have not failed 1,000 times. I have successfully discovered 1,000 ways to NOT make a light bulb."
    ― Thomas A. Edison

    “Negative results are just what I want. They’re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don’t.”
    ― Thomas A. Edison

    - I must be a Nutter,VC says so -

  5. #13
    chrisdb is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    261

    Default

    I saw the advert but couldn't find any 3rd party reviews so decided to wait. I love trying new things, but many of them are failures ( I've now grubbed out goji berries, honey berries, reuben blackberries, ...) so if the plant isn't cheap and there's no validation of the seller's claims I'm a bit reluctant to be the first to go.
    Jay-ell likes this.

  6. #14
    DannyK is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Riddlesdown (S of Croydon)
    Posts
    430

    Default

    Bought an Illinois Everbearing mulberry years ago based on the puff in the catalogue.
    Fruit was insipid now a stump! Only thing it did was keep birds off other fruit.
    Now got Wellington Mulberry and am living in hope.
    Fruit on my ribes odoratum are black and taste horrible. Yellow flowers, nice scent.
    Jay-ell likes this.

  7. #15
    devonuk is offline Seedling
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I agree with the Guardian's reservation that this probably a hybrid, not a variety of black mulberry (morus nigra) - the leaves look like white mulberry not black, and if Sparrow's is leafing out in mid-march that is very atypical for morus nigra which usually plays it safe until May before coming into leaf. Fruit may therefore not be of m nigra quality.

  8. #16
    Mrs Bee is offline Rooter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Ahh, that is not good news then as I leapt in an ordered one.

    I should have learned by now that these unusual plants especially from this company are all 'wee and wind' as Granddad would say.

    I will just have to be patient and wait for the proper mulberry tree I bought a couple of years ago to fruit.

    Just I hope I live long enough to eat the fruit. LOL
    vixylix likes this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts