Subs
Subs

Grow Your Own Magazine

Navbar button growfruitandveg.co.uk Logo
Forum Navigation

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 18
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Allotment Site Inspection Checklist

  1. #1
    Cadalot's Avatar
    Cadalot is online now Early Fruiter
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Sutton Surrey
    Posts
    3,753

    Default Allotment Site Inspection Checklist

    Allotment Site Inspection Checklist-checklist.jpg

    Anyone out there that undertakes cultivation site inspections on allotments care to share their check list ?

    . .......Man Vs Slug
    Click Here for my Diary and Blog
    Nutters Club Member

  2. #2
    Thelma Sanders is offline Mature Fruiter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Willesborough, Kent
    Posts
    6,205

    Default

    Ours are along these lines..
    Spring, Has cultivation started yet? Bearing in mind bad weather around the time of inspecton
    Is it free of seeding weeds?
    Are grass paths being cut/strimmed?
    Are plot numbers clearly visible?
    Is there anything potentially dangerous on the plot?

    Summer. Is plot still being cultivated?
    How much is being worked? Does it meet quantity to be worked, are there too many flowers, too much grass (paths or otherwise) too many empty beds -according to any rules?
    Are any fruit trees within any size limits.
    Is it free of seeding weeds?
    Are grass paths being cut ?
    Is there anything potentially dangerous on the plot?



    Autumn, Is it free of seeding weeds?
    Are grass paths being cut/strimmed?
    Is there anything potentially dangerous on the plot?


    Winter, Has plot been cultivated at all?
    Is it free of seeding weeds.
    Grass may not be cut because of bad weather!
    Is there anything potentially dangerous on the plot?

  3. #3
    Baldy's Avatar
    Baldy is online now Early Fruiter
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    North Devon
    Posts
    2,221

    Default

    We do monthly checks from Spring to the end of Autumn - much in line with Thelma's list.
    2/3rds in cultivation, fruit trees under 8ft, paths cut, hedges under control for those on the outside plots, no glass (windows) on plot, no weeds in seed etc

    We were a little informal in our approach - e.g giving people a little more time to get things right if they were at least communicating with us, and taking illness and personal problems into consideration. However this backfired as one person complained to the Council that they were being treated differently to others. So - illness somewhat excepting - everyone will now be treated the same.

    If plot is neglected or otherwise showing signs of problems they will get an informal letter or text message. No improvement in a month leads to formal 21 days notice unless committee agrees that progress has been made.

    Then formal letter of termination.
    Thelma Sanders likes this.

    1574 gin and tonics please Monica, large ones.

  4. #4
    Snadger's Avatar
    Snadger is online now Dundiggin
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne (Is there a nice bit?)
    Posts
    22,434

    Default

    A bottle of Famous Grouse usually induces temporary blindness for the committee!
    Potstubsdustbins likes this.
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

    Diversify & prosper



  5. #5
    Chestnut is offline Sprouter
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    225

  6. #6
    veggiechicken's Avatar
    veggiechicken is offline Warning!! Contains Nuts
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunshiny South Wales
    Posts
    52,083
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I "think" they're ^^^^ for judging Best Plot rather than site inspections. Gives everyone summat to aspire to though.

    Glad I don't have a plot now as I'd fail at every inspection!
    Look on the bright side

  7. #7
    Snadger's Avatar
    Snadger is online now Dundiggin
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne (Is there a nice bit?)
    Posts
    22,434

    Default

    Its a bit of a financial thing with us. If we can keep every plot let, it means we can keep prices down for all. If we start hassling punters and drop below a fully let site the prices will rise. So basically the bad or dirty gardeners are subsidising the good gardeners!
    veggiechicken and Chestnut like this.
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

    Diversify & prosper



  8. #8
    Thelma Sanders is offline Mature Fruiter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Willesborough, Kent
    Posts
    6,205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snadger View Post
    Its a bit of a financial thing with us. If we can keep every plot let, it means we can keep prices down for all. If we start hassling punters and drop below a fully let site the prices will rise. So basically the bad or dirty gardeners are subsidising the good gardeners!
    Luckily we've got quite a long waiting list so can afford to let some idlers go if they don't get with the program by Spring Mwhahahaha!
    Chestnut likes this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts